top of page
  • CJ

Back to live music

So, after all this time, I finally got to go back to an actual venue and not just my living room to see an actual band again! Following covid, being in a room with x amount of strangers, shoulder to shoulder singing and dancing, understandably is some peoples worst nightmare in the current situation. Although admittedly I was a bit apprehensive (considering one of the last gigs I went to, I caught covid myself) if I'm being completely honest I was just glad to be back in my happy place. Being back was like a dream come true: the uncertainty as to which music venues would re-open after the lockdowns was something I remember very clearly. I wrote to members of parliament, signed petitions and shared as much information as I could on social media, so to be back at my favourite venue was beyond words.

Forgetting covid existed for a night while my friends started mosh pits and I was loosing my voice screaming to my favourite songs, being in a room with a bunch of music loving (and mostly drunk) strangers was surreal. I was pleasantly surprised that the trademark sticky carpet of the venue was relatively clean and did not feel like I was wading through mud upon entry - this had significantly reverted back to how I remember it by the end of the night much to my nostalgic relief.

And, as for the bands themselves? Love Won't Be Long kicked off the evening with angelic tones and timeless acoustic tracks, The Q Days brought vibrant energy to the room with effervescent numbers, and Square Wave emitted sci-fi energy in a chilled yet heartfelt fashion. The headliners, The Trusted, put on an explosive performance (as always!) with guitar solos and drum fills being echoed by the bass lines. I was fortunate enough to talk to Tom, the frontman of The Trusted, after the gig, who, when asked about the bands highlights so far said "Tonight". I think that, in itself, summarises perfectly the extent to which every single music lover in that room was feeling as that precise moment.





Big thanks to The Trusted for a fab night as always!


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page