top of page
  • CJ

Return of the Blog ft Luna Carina

It is nearly half way through the year: Music Bubble's Podcast has launched and is now on Episode 3... and now the blog is back too.


In these past few months, my music taste has ventured into different directions. Of course, Arctic Monkeys will always have my heart, but equally artists such as Prince and Lizzo have made it onto my playlists. As usual, there are also up and coming bands that are on the horizon, and when Luna Carina got in touch with me, I was hooked on their experimental nature.


A band centred around collaborations, Luna Carina demonstrate versatility and experimentation throughout. To quote their Spotify bio, they describe their music as 'experimental indie dream-pop', which, after listening to a variety of their songs, is the best way to sum up their music. Every track has a different feel, with use of varying production techniques as well as vocals, but a common theme is that the bass lines carry every track. As a bassist myself, I always tune into the bass in a track, and I love that Luna Carina have made this the common denominator throughout.

It is hard to pinpoint one single influence due to the varied nature, but hints of bands such as Blossoms, Wolf Alice, London Grammar and Radiohead flow throughout their latest album 'Lily' especially.


Taking the track, 'Leave Me Light' as an example, synth influences held down by a funky bass riff reminds me of the track 'Alcatraz' by King No-One, whilst the dreamlike nature paired with the vocals are very 'Freazy' by Wolf Alice. In a complete new direction, their latest single 'Vertu' takes on another persona: a French version of their debut single, 'Virtue'. Commenting on the track, they said, "In Luna Carina we like to experiment with different styles, genres and influences. We have a few songs on our album in different languages and I thought Virtue would sound really cool in French"


Luna Carina will be joining me for an episode of the podcast over the next few months, so make sure to subscribe on Spotify to keep up to date with the podcast!




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page