top of page
  • CJ

Reminiscing Over Gigs

Updated: Oct 26, 2022

Going to gigs and concerts is one of the things I'm missing most at the minute... here's a little collection of some of my fondest gig memories...


The Vamps (and New Hope Club)

The first time I saw The Vamps was in 2016: It was my first concert and I was seeing the band who had inspired me greatly, not just musically but also as people. I was lucky enough to meet the band before the show, and vividly remember freezing up and saying about a thousand 'thank yous' in a whirlwind. I was frozen for most of the concert too, in awe of what I was seeing: Connor's bass had a sparkler on the end of it, guitars were being thrown across the stage, and at certain points, Brad had the whole audience so captivated you could hear a pin drop. It was an experience so mesmerising that I didn't think anything could top it...

I saw the boys again in 2017 and, once again, utterly mesmerising. This time the show was bigger and better than ever with fire (I remember feeling the heat from where I was sitting and being amazed at the intensity of it), bass and drum solos thrown in the mix and even an appearance made by the band by coming up through the floor. It was another insane night.

The third time I saw The Vamps was in 2018: I was lucky enough to meet the support act, New Hope Club, who I had been supporting since they formed in 2015. I shall never forget seeing NHC in soundcheck: I nearly turned up late as I was very close to the front of the queue and then needed the loo last minute... the panic in mums voice when people started going in always sticks with me.

Overall, every time I have seen The Vamps (and NHC... they have been there every time, too) they never failed to put on an entertaining and memorable show. There is something so special when a whole arena is captivated in songs such as 'Risk It All' and a wave of emotion passes through everyone. I really miss being in a venue like the O2: such a large number of people, all there with a common reason.


The Trusted

The day I saw 'The Trusted' live for the first time is something I will never forget. This band had inspired me so much and I had recently covered one of their songs. An opportunity arose for me to see them so I couldn't say no... even though it meant braving my fear of the pier. Anyone who knows me, knows that I will make any excuse not to go on a pier... or anything that is far away from land, for that matter. So, for me to actually get to the location felt like being on 'I'm a celebrity' or something of the sort. I can safely say it was worth it, though. I spoke to frontman, Tom, who kindly gave me a t-shirt for being the first person to cover one of their songs, and I remember being petrified that I was going to loose the t-shirt through the gaps in the pier the whole time. I also remember being in awe of their performance and talent during the whole set. I met the rest of the band after the gig, too.

I have seen The Trusted countless times since then. Another fond memory of seeing The Trusted was the first time they dedicated 'Turbulence' (the first song I ever listened to of theirs and my personal favourite) to me: I remember nearly passing out and my best mate having to hold me upright.

There have been a couple of their headline gigs that have been INSANE: honestly, I really miss sending the text to my mates saying "Trusted gig. Tonight. xx" and heading out for a spontaneous gig, and can't wait to see them again.


Catfish and the Bottlemen

I had been a fan of Catfish and the Bottlemen for 4 years before seeing them live. When I found out I had tickets to see them at their War Child gig at the beginning of 2020 as a late birthday present I cried for hours. And hours. And hours. After watching their festival sets on YouTube for years, it was so strange to think I was going to see them... in person.

The actual gig was the most mind blowing experience. I have always admired their talents and they have been one of the bands to musically inspire me over the years. The beginning of a concert is always filled with so much anticipation and is one of the magical memories created at there, for me. I remember physically shaking and then being so overwhelmed that I lost my voice after the first few songs as Catfish came on stage. The bit that really stuck out for me was when they played my favourite of their songs, 'Soundcheck': it was a moment I had dreamed of for so long... it was honestly so amazing words cannot even begin to describe how I was feeling during the solo by guitarist, Johnny Bond. The whole gig was a whirlwind of solos, chanting and shouting at the top of my lungs. It was all rounded off with the signature shadow left on stage of Van McCann's guitar on the mic stand. It was haunting, magical and memorable.


Fraser Cattini

Needless to say, one of the people I miss seeing live the most is Fraser. We met at an open mic back in 2018 and have been close friends ever since. I used to love going to see him because he has a way of captivating an audience and pouring out emotions that tug on everyones heart strings, leaving many speechless. There have been a few of Fraser's gigs that I remember so vividly: one it was so still and quiet that I kept physically twitching in fear of moving... he had no microphone and no amp, it was just him, his guitar and a spotlight: that was all it needed. I remember the time he played at a football stadium too, for a charity gig... I shall never forget how proud I felt watching one of my best friends up there. One of the things I miss most though is trying to guess his setlist before every gig and him having to hide the piece of paper from me to keep the set a surprise.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page